Thursday Tempo Run

Hello! I hope you all are having a good morning! I had a great run this morning that put me in a great mood for the workday!

First, I want to tell you about the delicious dinner that I made last night! Before the Hubble and I went to Seattle a few weeks ago for a wedding, we stopped by Target (a.k.a my own personal heaven) and picked up a few magazines for our flight. I chose Cooking Light because I was drawn in by the tasty-looking cover:

In the past couple of weeks, we tried out two recipes from the magazine: Chicken and Rice Casserole and Edamame Succotash. I substituted quinoa for the rice in the first recipe, and bulked it up by adding lots of zucchini. Both of the recipes were quite good 🙂

So anyway, last night I decided to cook mahi mahi using the marinade from the Sweet and Spicy Citrus Tilapia recipe also found in the August 2010 Cooking Light magazine. It was super quick- I marinated the fish for 15 minutes and then broiled for 20 minutes. While the fish was in the oven, I steamed some spinach and baby carrots. The end result was very pretty!

It also tasted really good! I’d never broiled fish before last night, but apparently a sweet marinade + sprinkling of paprika + broiler = delicious, caramelized top of fish! The Hubble thoroughly enjoyed it, and though I have a picture of him being incredibly happy while eating it, he would kill me if I posted it 🙂

While we ate dinner, we drank some wine and watched the movie Hot Fuzz. I thought the movie was pretty funny when I first saw it (when it first came out), but last night I wasn’t nearly as amused as I thought I would be! Hubble definitely didn’t love it either. Oh well! At least now we can send it back to Netflix and get something new to watch!

Alright! Back to this morning. Even though my alarm and the Hubble’s alarm were set for 5:00 AM, we managed to stay snuggled in until after 6. We decided that it’s a lot harder to get out of bed with the sun coming up later and later, and especially so when there’s a nice thick cloud cover!

To prepare for my run I made some coffee and a piece of toast with almond butter (no pictures, I was far too sleepy to even think about it!). I realized it was probably better that I slept in, since the path I run on is a little scary when it’s dark out!

Today’s run was a scheduled tempo run: 1 mile easy warm-up, 6 miles @ long tempo pace (9:15 based on my one and only 10k time), 1 mile easy cooldown. Here are the stats from my run:

  • Mile 1 (warm-up): 9:55
  • Mile 2: 8:57
  • Mile 3: 8:52
  • Mile 4: 8:47
  • Mile 5: 8:44
  • Mile 6: 8:39
  • Mile 7: 8:15
  • Mile 8 (cool down): ~11:30? Included water stop and stretching at beginning of mile
  • Overall time: 1:13:41 (9:12 pace)

I was pleasantly surprised at my ability to create a consistent negative split (and check out that max speed)! I had every intention of starting my tempo miles at the goal pace of 9:15/mile, but I had a hard time reigning myself in. I still forced myself to go faster every mile though!

Since I was running a tad on the late side this morning, I packed my breakfast to eat at work while drinking more coffee.

I eat pretty much the same thing every morning, at least during the week, and I have surprisingly not gotten sick of it.

One chopped banana:

Add a cup of oats:

And pack a serving of vanilla protein powder to mix in:

All together:

Once I got to work I just added water to the oats + banana, popped it in the microwave, and then mixed in the protein. Simple but delicious and filling!

I also packed my lunch for today- I will post it later on!

Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

