Today has been another crazy day in the life of a Running Wifle. I had every intention of posting either last night or this morning before work, but that obviously didn’t happen!

Yesterday after work, I met the Hubble at our gym for a quick weights session. I haven’t pushed myself really hard at the gym for awhile, so I decided to see how much I could lift. Here’s what I did:

Bench press: 3 x 10 reps, with 65, 75, and 85 lbs in the 3 sets.
Dips: body weight, 3 sets of 5, 5, and then 3 reps
Tricep extensions: 3 x 10 reps, with 45, 50, and 50 lbs in the 3 sets
Crunches: 3 x 25 reps
Hip lifts: 3 x 15 reps
V sit extensions: 3 x 15 reps
V sit twists: 3 x 30 reps with 12 lb medicine ball

By the time the Hubble and I finished up and got home, it was already 8:30 pm (i.e. almost bed time for us early risers) so we grabbed a super quick dinner. I had a couple of chicken burger patties from Costco (no pic, sorry) and some steamed spinach. We get our spinach from Costco in a giant bag, and it’s on the edge of expiration, hence steaming it!

Our alarms went off far too early at 5 AM this morning. The Hubble tried to trick our brains by immediately turning on a light, and it seemed to work. Though in retrospect I think that my alarm snooze interval being set to a torturous 2 minutes probably helped quite a bit! In any case, we were out of bed rather quickly, which was fortunate because we had a date with Shaun T!

Shaun T. is the face of the Insanity workout.

Description from the BeachBody website:

“Are you ready to dig deep?

Then you might just complete the hardest workout program ever put on DVD. Your personal trainer Shaun T will push you past your limits with 10 workout discs packed with plyometric drills on top of nonstop intervals of strength, power, resistance, and ab and core training moves. No equipment or weights needed. Just the will to get the hardest body you’ve ever had.

The secret to these mind-blowing results: MAX Interval Training. Shaun T took traditional interval training and flipped it on its headโ€”you perform long bursts of maximum-intensity exercises with short periods of rest. Each workout keeps you constantly challenged as you alternate between aerobic and anaerobic intervals performed at your MAX. The result: burn up to 1,000 calories in an hour and get the most insane body in 60 days.”

The Hubble and I ordered this DVD set because we thought it would be a great way to incorporate high intensity interval training (HIIT) into our workout regime. Since I am training for a marathon and the Hubble is a strength training machine, we opted not to follow the prescribed plan, which is a 2 month, 6 days a week program. Instead we are on a 3 day a week plan to fit in with our multiple days of running and lifting.

This morning we did this workout:

Plyometric Cardio Circuit: Burn fat with intervals of intense lower-body plyo and sweat-inducing cardio.

The workout is only around 40 minutes, but it is most definitely serious business! If you plan on doing this workout, be prepared to drip sweat. This morning I was sweating so much on our concrete floor that my hands slipped out from under me during a set of push ups and I basically face planted. Further evidence that I was a sweaty wifle:

I plan on doing a complete review on the workout program in the future, once I have gotten into the second (read: harder) month of DVDs, but so far I think it’s pretty good. I would say that I have pretty good endurance, seeing as how I run quite a bit at fairly long distances, and I have yet to make it all the way through an insanity workout without needing a break. It’s the antithesis of distance running, which I feel is the perfect cross training for me- it challenges my body in new ways and I love it! I feel that this workout combined with the speed work incorporated into my running plan (and the strength training) has made me a fitter and faster runner.

After I got all cleaned up, I made oats and coffee for breakfast. I forgot to make a banana run last night, so I substituted frozen blueberries into my fruit + oats + protein mix.

It just wasn’t the same ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The Hubble had a bowl of granola and blueberries with the last of a container of greek yogurt. No picture of that, but the spoiled pup got to lick the container clean!

The only thing left in that container were some stray dog hairs from him sticking his face in ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning I went to a meeting about trying to increase the amount of recycled water being used in industrial processes in the South SF Bay area. It was pretty interesting and I was able to do a little bit of networking. While I was there, I snacked on some fruit and a Costco chocolate muffin and drank some free coffee. I hadn’t had one of those muffins in forever but it was super tasty. Unfortunately it wasn’t the smartest thing I’ve ever eaten, and I felt kind of sick and experienced a caffeine+sugar crash :-/

I got back to the office to find that something I had a large part in planning did not happen due to a mistake on my part (and on the part of lots of other people, but I feel terrible about it). After some scrambling around, frantic phone calls, and some unplanned field work in my business clothing, I finally had lunch. I didn’t pack anything today so I had a garden salad and bagel with cream cheese from the deli just down the street from my office. The salad was pretty basic, with a mountain of iceberg lettuce and random other vegetables. I wasn’t aware that people still ate salads with iceberg lettuce- I mean it’s got a nice crunchy texture but where are the nutrients? The bagel was of the pizza variety, covered in sauce and melted cheese, and was smeared with a super thick layer of cream cheese. It was heaven in my stressed belly ๐Ÿ˜€

The plans for the rest of the day include more work, then heading home to have wine for with dinner to relax! I’ve got lots of miles planned for this weekend, but am also excited to spend lots of quality time with the Hubble and our fur-family ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

