Tacos for dinner and a lazy Saturday Morning

The Hubble and I planned on going out on a date night last night, but after a long day at work that resulted in me getting home after 7:30, neither of us were really feeling it. Instead, we used up the rest of our mahi mahi by making fish tacos!

First, to go along with the tacos, I tried my hand at making marinated onions for a condiment. I thinly sliced a half of an onion (I think generally red onions are used but we only had white on hand), dropped it into a glass measuring cup, and covered it in red wine vinegar.

Next, I made up a marinade for the mahi mahi with the following ingredients:

  • Olive oil (about 3-4 tablespoons)
  • Cilantro (large handful, finely chopped)
  • Jalapeño (finely chopped with seeds remaining)
  • Chili powder (maybe 1-2 teaspoons? I just shook some in)
  • Cumin (again, I just shook some in)
  • Juice of one lime

I then put 3 fish fillets in a pan and covered in marinade.

While everything was marinating, I got to work making some fresh salsa. The ingredients of my salsa were:

  • 4 medium tomtoes
  • 1/2 large white onion
  • 1 large bunch of cilantro
  • 1 jalapeño (sans seeds this time)
  • 1 can of corn, drained
  • Juice of 1 lime

I didn’t really have a plan when I started the salsa. Since I had half of an onion left over, I decided to just use the rest of it for this purpose. If I had been thinking ahead, I would have started with the tomatoes and then added the other ingredients to get the ratio that I wanted. But, I wasn’t thinking ahead and the end result was a pretty enormous amount of salsa!

I was kicking myself for not thinking to get chips at the store to go with my salsa but then realized I could make my own 🙂 I used my kitchen shears to cut up a few of the extra corn tortillas I had, placed the triangles on a cookie sheet, and spritzed with olive oil and salt.

Going into the oven:

Aaaannndddd…. perfectly baked!

The Hubble and I snacked on some of these with the salsa while getting everything else cooked, and he said that they might be better than store bought. Success!

We also had some syrah while we were cooking:

Surprisingly good wine for being under $10 at Trader Joe’s 🙂

After everything had plenty of time to marinate, we tossed the mahi mahi onto the stove on high. I let it sear on one side for about 5 minutes, then flipped it over and let it cook for another 5 minutes. We wanted the outside to get nice and crispy.

Once done, it was flaked:

And assembled into tacos! Here is the Hubble’s plate:

I decided that I wasn’t really in the mood for fish tacos anymore, so I went ahead and served myself a nice big bowl of kibble:

… just kidding! The Hubble was in charge of photography while cooking and decided that Gibbs’ dinner needed some attention as well 😉

We settled down on the couch to eat while watching There Will Be Blood. I was getting pretty sleepy by the time we were halfway through, so the Hubble was kind enough to turn it off so I could get to bed.

This morning was pretty lazy. We slept in until well after 8, then had a light breakfast while finishing up our movie. After that, I leashed up the pup and we headed out for a run while the Hubble went to the gym.

Our run was a quick and dirty 4 miles. Gibbs loves to go on runs but he’s not so great at running at a leash. He always spends the first mile or so pulling as hard as he possibly can and basically strangling himself with his collar. Here’s a summary of the run:

  • Overall: 4 miles in 37:02 (9:15 average pace)
  • Mile 1: 9:09 (Gibbs was pulling hard the whole mile)
  • Mile 2: 9:23
  • Mile 3: 9:27
  • Mile 4: 9:01

Plans for the rest of today include running errands, playing at the dog park, and going on our date! We may also be checking out the San Jose Jazz Festival.It looks like it’s going to be a nice day!

One thought on “Tacos for dinner and a lazy Saturday Morning

Leave a Reply

