Infernal Intervals

Despite taking a rest day yesterday, I woke up this morning tired, with my quads feeling like bricks, and with minimal motivation to run. I still made myself get dressed and go, though, because today I had an interval workout scheduled!

My training plan called for 2 sets of 6 x 400m with 1:30 rest intervals and a 2:30 rest in between sets. The goal pace was 7:45-7:55 per mile, or splits of 1:56-1:59.

Summary of workout:

  • Overall: 8.0 miles
  • Warm-up: 2 miles
  • Interval set 1: 1:57, 2:01, 1:56, 1:57, 1:54, 1:53
  • 2:30 rest interval
  • Interval set 2: 1:52, 1:53, 1:55, 1:50, 1:55, 1:52
  • Cool down (~1.25 miles home)

My average interval time was 1:54, or a 7:38 average pace. Even though I did the intervals a bit faster than my goal, the workout was brutal. At the beginning, my rest periods were a slow jog, but as I became more and more tired, there was more and more walking involved. By the time I got to my cool down I was exhausted and just wanted to be home! The cool down itself was a pretty sad little shuffle back to the apartment. 😦

During my run there were a lot of negative thoughts going through my head, and instead of just pushing them out of my mind I tried to think about where those thoughts were coming from, how they were affecting me, and most importantly what I could do to change my mindset. I am going to be writing a post on that topic once I have a bit more time!

Leave a Reply

