Curried Summer Salad + Catching Up

I wish I were still on vacation! I really enjoyed Reno and think that it is a much better fit for me than the Bay Area. Maybe one day we will live there!

I snapped myself back to reality yesterday morning with a nice tough interval run. Here’s what my training schedule had laid out for me:

10-20 min warmup; 1600m (400m RI); 3200m (800m RI); 2 x 800m (400m RI); 10 min cooldown

1600m goal pace 8:05-8:10; 3200m goal pace 8:20-8:30, 800m goal pace 7:55-8:00

After eating a snack while plugging the workout into my Garmin, I set out. Here are my results:

  • Overall: 8.00 miles in 1:12:08 (9:01 pace)
  • 2 mi warmup
  • 1600m interval: 8:06
  • 400m RI
  • 3200m interval: 16:36 (8:18 pace)
  • 800m RI
  • 800m interval #1: 4:01.5 (8:03 pace)
  • 400m RI
  • 800m interval #2: 3:54 (7:48 pace)
  • 1 mi cooldown

My cooldown wasn’t really a true cooldown, since I realized that I was really close to an overall pace of 9:00 about a half mile out and decided to speed up. Overall, it was a really good workout and I think I have been improving, which always feels great!

Last night I was craving a nice cool dinner, and since the Hubble and I had stopped at a produce stand on our way back into town on Monday, we had lots of fresh vegetables. I decided to try and make something new!

Curried Summer Salad

  • 3 zucchini, chopped
  • 3 yellow summer squash, chopped
  • 1/2 lb grape tomatoes, halved
  • 2 cans garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 tbsp mustard
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all vegetables and beans in a large bowl. In a separate container, make the dressing by mixing mustard, olive oil, vinegar, and spices. Toss the salad with the dressing! I served mine over a bed of baby greens with some parmesan sprinkled on top, and the Hubble had his with a chicken burger.

The recipe is ridiculously easy but also really tasty and refreshing for summer time, especially when you make it on a day with record high temperatures! Be warned that it does make a lot, though- we like to have leftovers for quick and easy lunches, but if you’re making it just for yourself I would cut the recipe in half or so.

This morning was a non-running day, but the Hubble and I did manage to get nice and sweaty with Shaun T. during Insanity. I always feel like I get a great workout doing Insanity, but every day that I am scheduled to do it I play with the idea of subbing a run instead. I guess that I just really love running! I just need to contain myself a bit, since I am seeing more improvement by doing less running and more cross training. Plus, cross training today means that I am already excited to tackle tomorrow’s run!

One thought on “Curried Summer Salad + Catching Up

  1. Hi! Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for your comment! I have been trying to find some bloggers in the San Jose area. The next race I am participating in is the San Jose Rock ‘n Roll half marathon on October 3rd. I am trying to figure out which race I want to be my next marathon… I really want to qualify for Boston, too! I see you are training for Nike, that is supposed to be a great one. I would love to have a new running buddy, if you are ever interested!

Leave a Reply

