20 mile success!

Yesterday I tackled my third 20 mile training run. In all honesty, I woke up when my alarm went off at 5 am and thought “Why on earth do I do this to myself?” As tempted as I was to not run and just stay all snuggled up, the Hubble was right when he said that I didn’t have to go running but that I would be very unhappy with myself if I didn’t. Why does he always have to be right? 🙂

While eating breakfast I got to thinking about how long it has been since I’ve slept in on a Sunday morning. At first I thought it was just since the beginning of my marathon training, which would be the Fourth of July. Then, I looked back at my training log and realized that I have run 10 or more miles every single Sunday since April 25, and since I always get up early for my long runs, that means I have been getting up early on Sunday for 19 weeks (almost 5 months) straight! Insane!

Anyway, I finally got my butt moving and arrived at the trail head just after 7 am. The sky was surprisingly clear- there’s usually a nice cloud cover for most of the morning that protects me from the sun, so I was a bit worried about it getting too warm Luckily it was also nice and cool, and a pretty much perfect day for a run!

I have been trying to not stop my watch at all during my long runs in order to mimic an actual race scenario. It actually seems like I run faster overall when I don’t stop my watch, for some reason. Maybe it’s because I don’t really stop running much and am able to get in and stay in a groove.

Here are the summary stats/mile splits for my run:

  • Total: 20 miles in 3:14:01 (9:42 pace)
  • 1 – 9:44
  • 2 – 9:46
  • 3 – 9:40
  • 4 – 9:53
  • 5 – 9:46
  • 6 – 9:46
  • 7 – 10:06 (Water/stretch break)
  • 8 – 9:45
  • 9 – 10:01
  • 10 – 9:37
  • 11 – 9:31
  • 12 – 9:28
  • 13 – 9:18
  • 14 – 10:31 (Water/stretch break)
  • 15 – 9:34
  • 16 – 9:21
  • 17 – 10:56 (Water/stretch break)
  • 18 – 9:09
  • 19 – 9:16
  • 20 – 8:55

This was (marginally) faster than my previous two 20 mile runs. If I am able to run at that average pace for the entire marathon, I should finish in just under 4:15! I’m still a full 7 weeks out from the marathon and have another 20 miler and a 22 miler before I start to taper, so we will see where I am then! Here’s my Nike Women’s Marathon training schedule if you’re interested in checking it out.

I am really proud of myself for following the running portion of my training plan so closely. Unfortunately, I have been majorly slacking on the strength training the past few weeks, and could probably be doing better with my cross-training Insanity days as well. Even though I logged 41 miles last week and my legs feel nice and strong, my core and upper body needs some gym time! Hopefully this week will be better!

Speaking of this week, I’ve got big plans! I’ve reached the point in my training plan where my mid-week runs are getting up to 10 miles! Tomorrow I have 1200m intervals, and Thursday I’m set to run 10 miles at my marathon goal pace. I’m most excited about Sunday, though, because I get to RACE!

A month or so ago, the Hubble and I discussed driving up to Oregon for Labor Day weekend, and I had the bright idea of finding a race to run. I initially found a different race, but when I invited a friend of mine to run with me, she told me she was already planning on running in Eugene that day with her mom. I decided to crash their running party and couldn’t be more excited. Even though both of us have been running for awhile now, we have never run together, not even a training run! It should be lots of fun. I’m trying to decide if I want to just run it for fun or if I want to try and PR… we shall see!

One thought on “20 mile success!

Leave a Reply

