Welcome, September!

As much as I am a lover of sunshine and summer time, I am so excited for fall! I’ve been looking at the boots and sweaters in  my closet longingly, and have been dreaming about making baked goods with delicious pumpkin and maple flavors 🙂 I’m sure once it gets chilly out I will be begging for summer to come back, but for now I can’t wait. Unfortunately, it’s supposed to be insanely hot today, so no boots for me!

Yesterday my training plan had a workout that looked like this:

10-20 min warmup; 3 x (2 x 1200m (2 min RI), (4 min RI between sets); 10 min cooldown

Yes, that would be a total of 6 1200m intervals with a goal of 6:00 – 6:03 (pace of 8:00-8:05/mile). With the rest intervals and warmup/cooldown, it turned into a pretty long interval session! Here are the stats:

  • Overall: 9.01 miles in 1:24:01 (9:20 pace)
  • Interval 1: 6:04
  • Interval 2: 5:58
  • Interval 3: 5:56
  • Interval 4: 6:01
  • Interval 5: 6:00
  • Interval 6: 7:17

One of those is not like the others! Truth is, I really struggled during these intervals. I pushed myself as hard as I could, but during that last interval my legs started to feel like lead and I couldn’t keep up the pace. I figured 5 out of 6 isn’t bad, and running 9 miles at all, even at an easy pace, 2 days after a 20 miler was a pretty good accomplishment!

All day yesterday my body felt heavy and tired, and my leg muscles were feeling really tight. I decided that what my body really needed was a nice yoga session, so after work I headed to the gym to a vinyasa class. I was absolutely amazed at how much flexibility I have lost in the last few months, especially in my hips and hamstrings. I wish I had unlimited time for running and everything else that has fallen by the wayside with marathon training (weight lifting, yoga, core work). It’s too bad I have this pesky full time job…

Does anyone have any favorite fall-time recipes?

Leave a Reply

