Snapping Myself Out Of It

After reading the post that I wrote yesterday, the Hubble asked me if I felt better once I wrote it. At first, I didn’t think so, since “letting it out” would have resulted in an angrier post and likely a lot of expletives. However, my gloomy mood started to lift shortly after I published the post, which got me thinking that perhaps putting my frustrations into writing (even in a censored manner!) really helped me sort things out.

Other things that helped lift my mood? Homemade corn tortillas and fish tacos with my Hubble. Spicy hot chocolate. A super-nice comment from Laura that made me feel better about feeling overwhelmed. Having new running shoes in the mail. Setting new running goals.

I think that a part of my recent slump is due to the fact that I reached a major goal of mine on September 5, which was to run 1,000 miles in 2010. With almost 4 full months left in the year, I only had the Nike Women’s Marathon in October to work towards!  Additionally, the Hubble had been asking me what I was going to do after the NWM, and I always responded with “run another one” but never had any definite plans. I’m the sort of person that absolutely thrives off of having a plan, so without one I was feeling a bit lost.

On December 27 I will turn 26, and I’ve been thinking lately that it would be pretty sweet to celebrate my 26th birthday by running 26.2 miles. So can you guess what I did?

Yes, I registered for my 4th marathon: The Redding Marathon on January 16, 2011. It’s not quite on my birthday, but apparently two days after Christmas isn’t a popular time to host races so I had to work with what was available.

I’m pretty excited about this race- it seems to be the polar opposite of NWM. Last year there were less than 200 marathon participants, there are no on-course porta-potties, there is no chip-timing, and I have a sneaking suspicion that I won’t be getting a Tiffany’s necklace handed to me by a firefighter at the finish.

I’m also excited about the course itself, as it’s a mixture of paved roads and trails, and has an insane elevation profile:

In addition to registering for the marathon, I decided that my goal for next year is to complete 2011 miles in 2011. That’s about 40 miles a week, which I am currently running now, so I’m feeling that it’s an achievable, if tough, goal. Let’s just hope I don’t get injured and have to make up for any lost time!

To help meet my goals, I also have two new pairs of running shoes on their way to me! I got fitted at a local running store back in early spring, and bought a pair of Saucony ProGrid Ride 2 shoes that fit me perfectly. Seriously, I had been running in stability shoes even though my stride was neutral, and once I switched to the recommended shoes I stopped having knee pain altogether. If you haven’t been professionally fitted- do it! Of course, the shoes at these shops are more expensive than what you would get elsewhere, but the stride analysis is generally free and once you know what kind of shoe you need, you can get them anywhere!

I’m on my second pair of the Ride 2 shoes, and Saucony has recently updated them to the Ride 3. Since I need a new pair before the marathon and don’t want to take the chance of any slight differences in fit, I went ahead and ordered 2 more pairs of the Ride 2 before they aren’t available any more. The best part is that I saved a ton of money and they are fun colors!

I feel so much better about everything when I have goals set. Even though things on the job front are relatively crappy and may not get better for some time, it feels good to have things to work toward. Plus, since I just paid registration fees and bought 2 new pairs of shoes, I had better keep running!

One thought on “Snapping Myself Out Of It

Leave a Reply

