READY for the Marathon!

I’ve been a pretty terrible blogger lately! Life has been pretty hectic, and by the time I get home from work and take care of things that need to be taken care of, all I want to do is unplug and relax with my little family.

I have finally reached a major milestone in marathon training: the taper! Last weekend I ran my final superlong run of 23 miles, and now it’s all downhill from here 🙂

Last week I was worried that I was going to start my taper a bit early, since I thought I had hurt my trapezius:

(Thanks to the Hubble for constantly reminding me what muscle that was!) Throughout the past couple of weeks I had been having a lot of tightness in my back and neck, and tension headaches, but then on my run Thursday I got a major cramp that wound itself into a nice tight knot in my upper back. Despite numerous attempts to massage it out (again, thanks Hubble!), I was still having weird pains radiating throughout my arm and back, and so I took a couple of days off from running in the hopes that it would go away. When I went to bed on Saturday night and was having trouble falling asleep due to the pain, I wasn’t so sure that I would be doing my 23 miler afterall.

Luckily, I woke up Sunday feeling pretty good and decided to go for it! Well, I really decided that I was going to try and run 20 miles if I could make it, and less if I was in a lot of pain. No need to hurt myself further when I’m so close to the race, right? Plus, the forecast for the day was 20 degrees hotter than the day I ran 22 miles, so I knew it would be tough.

Thankfully, I was able to run complete the whole 23 miles! It wasn’t the greatest run of my whole life, and I had majorly positive splits and took walk breaks aplenty in the last 3 miles, but I am happy to say that I was able to maintain an overall pace of 9:51/mile including all stops (which equates to 3 hours and 46 minutes of running).  I am feeling confident that I will not only survive the marathon, but also PR by quite a bit!

Now that I’m in taper mode, I’m starting to feel antsy. The best part about it is that yesterday I ran almost 8 miles, with 8 x 800m intervals in there, which didn’t feel like a taper run at all. I think it’s all in my head- I want to RUN THE MARATHON NOW since I’ve hit all of my long run milestones. It’s painful to wait! And I still have 18 days left to go 🙂

Leave a Reply

