Marathon Madness

Any guesses as to what I’ll be doing on August 26th? 

Image

That probably wasn’t all that surprising… I was hesitant to register at first because I thought maybe I’d just wait for CIM in December, but my work situation is such that I may be relocating to the LA area in late summer/early fall, and I didn’t want to commit to something up here if I won’t be around. I emailed the running club’s coach about Santa Rosa vs. CIM, but she apparently doesn’t live on the internet like I do so I got impatient and just registered anyway.

Turns out she recommended that I wait for CIM. Her reasoning was that a lot of people from the club will do it, and the club training will reflect that. Since I’m doing Santa Rosa I’ll have to adjust the regular training plan (probably just by adding weekend miles) or I can have “one-on-one” coaching (which would be great for accountability, and completely negate the $10 I saved by registering early for the marathon).

Either way, I’m excited to start marathon training again! After a couple of awesome back-to-back race weekends (spoiler: I PR-ed big time at the SacTown 10 miler), I’m feeling confident but also antsy to start running long again!

2 thoughts on “Marathon Madness

Leave a Reply

