Weekly Recap 04/08/12

After racing the past 2 weekends, I was itching to increase my mileage again. I don’t have any races planned for the immediate future, so I’m trying to just maintain a base of about 50-55 miles per week with one long run and two days of speed work.

Monday, 4/2: Ran a total of 5 easy, 8:53 pace. We live about 2.5 miles from the dog park, so after work I leashed up Gibbs and jogged him over there. After playing for awhile, we ran back. My legs felt okay in terms of tightness and pain, but I was just tired.

Tuesday, 4/3: Speed work with run club. We did 5 x 800s, 4 x 200s for a total of 7.25 miles.  The 800s were supposed to be at 10k pace, or about 6:45/mi for me; my paces were:

  • 6:51
  • 6:50
  • unknown (forgot to start my watch)
  • 7:00
  • 6:53

I did the 200s at the following paces:

  • 5:29
  • 5:32
  • 5:14
  • 5:06

I really struggled with this workout because I was so tired.

Wednesday, 4/4: Another easy 5 miles with Gibbs at 8:32 pace.

Thursday, 4/5: Descending ladder intervals, total of 6.75 miles. The goal was to run 10/5/2.5/1/0.5 minute intervals starting at marathon pace and getting faster, with 1/2 time recovery between. Actual:

  • 10 minutes @ 7:57/mi
  • 5 minutes @ 7:17/mi
  • 2.5 minutes @ 6:57/mi
  • 1 minute @ 6:43/mi
  • 30 seconds @ 5:19/mi

Friday, 4/6: 5 miles in Oregon, visiting the in-laws. Pace of 8:16.

Saturday, 4/7: 15 mile long run, also in Oregon. Overall pace of 8:22. The goal was to run the first half easy and the second half at marathon (8:00) pace. Given the hills, etc., I didn’t quite make it, but I was pretty happy with the overall pace.

Sunday, 4/8: 8 mile recovery run, also in Oregon. Overall pace of 8:24. Nothing interesting happened except not realizing how long my route was going to be.

Weekly Total: 52 miles

The plan for this next week is to rest Monday, intervals with run club on Tuesday, and then the rest of the week is completely unknown because we are going to Japan Wednesday! I’m hoping to get some runs in, but I’m not going to worry too much about it. We’ll probably get lots of exercise just walking!

Leave a Reply

