Cycling Doesn’t Totally Suck

I think I may have actually had fun riding my bike yesterday. As much as I hate to admit it, I think biking in 90 degree weather is way more pleasant than running in 90 degree weather. I ended up going out for an hour, which ended up being 14.3 miles. I have no idea if I should be proud of or embarrassed by that. All I know is that it was a decent substitute for my planned 60 minute run: got/kept my HR up, challenged me with some hills, and left me tired.

Don’t expect to see a whole lot of cycling around here once I’m up and running again, though. I didn’t remember how to shift gears when I first got on yesterday, I’m freaked out by the total spandex outfits and being physically attached to a bike, and I honestly just think cyclists are weird. [Last weekend I witnessed a dude getting ready in a parking lot. He had a stogie in one hand and a gel in the other.]

I attempted to find a good photo to put in here, but I got as far as “cyclists are” into Google images, and it’s suggested included: cyclists are not rockstars, cyclists are douchebags, cyclists are annoying, cyclists are a menace, etc. And now I’m thoroughly distracted.

Leave a Reply

