Random shit in my head.

There’s a lot of random crap floating around in my brain this week. Most of it has very little, if anything, to do with running. It’s kind of a nice break, actually!

  • I had to fish a dead bird out of one of the reactors at work the other day. Then I realized I wasn’t exactly sure what to do with it. I was told to “just drop it over the edge, someone else will take care of it” so I did. Except I didn’t think about the fact that we were on top of a 21′ tank. Even thinking about the splat noise it made when it hit the ground makes me want to vomit.
  • I’m trying to decrease my caffeine intake since I’m sort of an addict. This week I’ve been drinking half decaf or half as much coffee and that seems to be going well. I’ve also decided to cut out soda (again), which is going to be really hard because I really like Diet Coke. A lot, especially in the summer! In the past I’ve cut it out completely, but it crept back into my life 😦
  • Yesterday I went to a “gentle yoga” class at my gym because certain people were hounding me about doing more yoga. Now I know why my running gait is terrible/I injured myself. We did some warrior poses and holy crap- my right hip would not square up during warrior 1. It didn’t feel “tight” as much as “stuck”. Guess I have some room for improvement? Now all I need is an extra hour a day to devote to yoga…

Image

  • At the aforementioned yoga class, I also witnessed one of the most fantastic things ever. During our final savasana, our instructor pulled a miniature harp out of her gym bag and proceeded to play what sounded like Fur Elise for us. This class was at a family-friendly chain gym, not some fancy hippie studio, mind you. Very odd.
  • My dog is awesome and I love him. He gets so damn excited every day when I get home. It annoys me a lot of the time since he likes to run under my feet and investigate where I’ve been based on smells, but the unconditional love is awesome. He’s also a good snuggler, so when the husband is out of town I don’t feel quite so lonely.
  • Image
  • I’ve realized that I need to eat a significant amount more than I have been. I could write a huge wordy post about this (and I actually might later) but for now it makes me uncomfortable to even think about it. Summary: active people need lots of calories and not getting enough can screw up your body and then you’ll feel like an idiot for doing it to yourself (on accident, of course).
  • I had a kickass run this morning. 7 miles with 3 tempo @ sub-8 pace. No pain!
One thought on “Random shit in my head.

Leave a Reply

